Oh you! Broccoli

Broccoli is easy to grow and challenging to harvest. Here’s an example of when broccoli is past its prime.

ImageHere’s broccoli when it’s ready to harvest.

Image

It’s really tough to tell when it’s ready to harvest. Basically, it’s one big flower. So, at first, I kept waiting till I could get the biggest flower head out there. But then, after watching them go to seed again and again, I am finally figuring out when is the best time to harvest these yummy heads.

So after throwing way far too many of these…

ImageI am now able to remember to harvest these…Image

About susankolvoord

I have been an avid home cook for years, having many cooking adventures with my friends. Now, I've expanded that enthusiasm for gardening, and I am excited to share what I learn as I go along.

Posted on May 22, 2013, in plants. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

